The mission of The Natural History Museum is to affirm the truth of science. By looking at the presentation of natural history, the museum demonstrates principles fundamental to scientific inquiry, principles such as the commonality of knowledge and the unavoidability of the unknown. The Museum inquires into what we see, how we see, and what remains excluded from our seeing. It invites visitors to take the perspective of museum anthropologists attuned to the social and political forces inseparable from the natural world.



Judith LeBlanc (Caddo)

Alexis Bunten (Aleut/Yup’ik)

Rosalyn LaPier (Blackfeet / Métis)

Shelley Means (Ojibwe / Lakota)

Lise Van Susteran

Laura Raicovich

Marc Weiss


Betsy Theobald Richards (Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma), Director of Creative Strategies and Public Programs, The Opportunity Agenda

Crystal Echo Hawk (Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma), President and CEO of Echo Hawk Consulting and Founding Director of Reclaiming Native Truth

Eric Chivian, Founder and Former Director of the Center for Health and the Global Environment at Harvard Medical School, co-founder of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, which won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1985

Faith Spotted Eagle (Yankton Sioux), Founding Member, Braveheart Society

James Powell, Geochemist; Former President and Director of the Los Angeles County Natural History Museum and former President of the Franklin Museum of Science

Judith LeBlanc (Caddo Tribe of Oklahoma), Founding Director, Native Organizers Alliance

Kert Davies, Director, Climate Investigations Center

Kii’iljus / Barbara J. Wilson (Haida Nation), Fellow at the Pacific Institute for Climate Change (PICS)

Lise Van Susteran, Psychiatrist, Co-Founder, Interfaith Moral Action on Climate

Mark Dion, artist

Michael Johnson (Arikara/Hidatsa/Ojibwe), Assistant Director of Development, Native American Rights Fund

Michael Mann, Distinguished Professor of Meteorology; Director, Earth System Science Center, Pennsylvania State University

Naomi Klein, Award-winning journalist and author of The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism, and This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climate

Robert R. Janes, Ph.D. , Archaeologist, Museologist, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of Museum Management and Curatorship

Rosalyn LaPier (Blackfeet), Author, Ethnobotanist, Scholar, Member of the EPA’s National Environmental Justice Advisory Council, and Research Associate at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

Shelley Means (Ojibwe/Lakota), Native Community Consultant for Native Voices Rising, Trainer with Native Organizers Alliance


Beka Economopoulos, Executive Director

Jason Jones, Creative Director

Ruth Miller (Dena’ina Athabaskan)Storytelling Organizer

Julian Brave Noisecat (Secwepemc/St’at’imc), Narrative Change Director

Karina Yager (Quechua), Director of Education

Steve Lyons, Director of Research

Mark Auslander, Senior Research Fellow


The Natural History Museum (NHM, 2014–) is a traveling museum that highlights the socio-political forces that shape nature. Founded on the belief that museums offer resources, infrastructure, and symbolic and narrative power that can be marshalled in the context of the climate and biocultural diversity crises, NHM aims to unleash the power of museums, motivating them to act not as shrines to a civilization in decline, but as defenders of the common and hubs of engagement for the future. NHM collaborates with Indigenous communities, environmental justice organizations, scientists, and museum professionals to create new narratives about our shared history and future, with the goal of educating the public, measurably influencing public opinion, and inspiring collective action.

The museum is a project of Not An Alternative, a nonprofit collective of artists, activists and scholars specializing in cultural organizing, narrative changing, and educational strategies to advance the public good. Cited in The New York Times and ArtNet’s “Best in Art” round-ups, Not An Alternative’s work has taken place in communities, social movements, and museums worldwide, including Guggenheim, PS1/MOMA, Queens Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Tate Modern, Victoria & Albert Museum, and Museo del Arte Moderno. 

Special Thanks to Our Supporters

  • Chorus Foundation
  • Overbrook Foundation
  • Nathan Cummings Foundation
  • Heinz Foundation
  • Hewlett Foundation
  • National Geographic Foundation
  • Resources Legacy Fund
  • Invoking The Pause of RSF Social Finance
  • Canada Council for the Arts
  • Beespace NYC
  • LUSH Charity Pot
  • A Blade of Grass
  • Patagonia Foundation
  • Global Wallace Fund
  • Compton Foundation
  • Voqal Fund
  • Horton Foundation Fund
  • Benoona Fund of RSF Social Finance
  • The New York Community Trust
  • Solidaire
  • Scintilla Foundation
  • Argosy Foundation
  • Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts